Windows Multiplayer Disconnection Issues: Related to complexity and game length?

DromeyDungeons

Greenhorn
Hi,

I have been hosting a multiplayer game since November 4, 2022 with my partner (lives in the same house, uses the same internet) and my friend who lives in the States (I live in Canada). Over the past several months we've had recurring disconnection issues where both my partner and friend experience the following before being disconnected (conveyed as a 'username quits' to me the host).
  • glitching/lagging (the 'rubber-band' motion of their sprite)
  • monsters freezing in place
  • unable to pick up items
  • unable to open chests
We know that disconnection happens more frequently when someone is in Skull Cavern or the Mines, and especially when two or more people are in Skull Cavern/the Mines.

We've played other multi-player games before, and it often starts okay but by the time we hit Year 2/3 we start to get disconnection issues. We are in Year 3 Fall of the current multiplayer game.

We are all on Windows machines and play through Steam.

I've done all of the steps as recommended in the multiplayer troubleshooting guide, and I've checked both Reddit and these forums for other solutions. While I've seen other posts with similar issues I have yet to find reliable solutions (or causes). At this point I'm interested in helping myself and others figure out the root cause of this problem (multiplayer disconnection), since we need to know that before we can fix it.