PC [Bug] Multiplayer host frequent crashes

FreakyT

Farmhand
Hi all!

I recently started playing SDV multiplayer, and often the host will completely freeze, and player 2 gets a message that the connection was lost. I’ve observed this multiple times, so here are the circumstances and versions of each attempt. I’m not 100% sure I have the versions correct, but I believe these are the right ones. Note that toward the end I suspected that our radically different time zones might have been a potential factor, but ultimately that fix didn’t seem to work either:

1. Windows 10 client to Windows 10 host - 1.5.1 Worked, played through several in-game days without issue
2. Windows 10 client to Mac host - 1.5.1 Worked, played through several in-game days without issue
3. Windows 10 client to Mac host - 1.5.2 immediate server crash on connect (occurred about 4 times, then we gave up)
4. Windows 10 client to Mac host -1.5.3 Worked until P2 entered the shop, then server crash
5. Windows 10 client to Mac host -1.5.4 immediate crash on connect
6, Windows 10 client to Windows 10 host -1.5.4 immediate crash on connect
7. (Changed host timezone (GMT-5) to match client time zone (GMT+9)
Windows 10 client to Mac host -1.5.4 Worked for 1 in-game day, but crashed after end of in-game day 2

Is this a known issue? Any other troubleshooting steps you’d recommend? Thanks!

Odin

Staff member
An error log (or logs) would be helpful in figuring out the issue, but these will only be generated on the host's device. It would be great if you could get an error log though! (Crashes don't always produce an error log, so you may not see any in the folder).
  • On Windows, press the windows key + R and enter %appdata%/stardewvalley/errorlogs.
  • On Mac, from your desktop click Go in the menubar (in the top right), then "Go to folder..." at the bottom of that menu. Enter ~/.config/StardewValley/ErrorLogs/.
If you have SMAPI installed, the best way to share a log is via https://smapi.io/log. Thanks!