Question A question about localizing Stardew Valley

MJ99

Greenhorn
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the forum, and I was told this was a great place to seek assistance from the community, so here I am. :laugh:

I come from Serbia, and I noticed that Stardew Walley has no official translations for Serbian (or any Balkan language for that matter). I would like to help bring this lovely community to the Balkans by translating Stardew Valley to Serbian. This would not only help Serbians who struggle with English get into the game, but a lot of other Balkan nations as well since our languages are very closely related and similar in a lot of ways.

What I'm looking for is guidance when it comes to this endeavor. I have no idea where to start and how to go about doing this, since I've never done anything similar before. Is there a localization spreadsheet I can use to easily access all lines of text in the title? I have a lot of motivation to finish this project, but starting without any available resources seems very difficult. I imagine people who have done translations before me did not go to the Wiki and translate text-by-text from the pages there, so I'm looking for the resources they used to make the process easier for them (if there are any, that is).

I would appreciate any guidance or advice on the topic, since I'm very new to this. Thank you for reading and thank you in advance for your responses. :proud:

Best wishes,
MJ

konerini

Greenhorn
Hi!

Regarding the technical side of it, you can find everything you need in the Stardew Valley\Content folder. For example, my path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Stardew Valley\Content