Why spicy eel for skull cavern?

bdawg

Greenhorn
I'm new to the game. When I go to skull cavern I take espresso and lucky lunch. But recently I've been watching youtube videos and reading posts about Stardew and it seems like everyone recommends Spicy Eel. Lucky Lunch gives you +3 luck, which seems really good to me (again i'm pretty new).

Is the extra +1 speed that important? Why does everyone say to use Spicy Eel?

Lew Zealand

Helper
Spicy Eel has the advantage that you can Farm it pretty easily by putting Rubies in Crystalariums to duplicate them and then trade them with the Desert Trader Lady for a Spicy Eel. Getting 2 Buffs is nice too, and you can layer on more Speed with Coffee or Luck with Ginger Ale, whichever you prefer. The Speed Buffs are very useful in outrunning some Skull Cavern monsters, especially the Flying Serpents which seem to have quite a preference for nibbling my knees.

Also you need to wait for the Lucky Lunch recipe until late Spring Y2 and if you miss it, you'll need to wait until it pops up again. You'll also need to stockpile ingredients as some are Spring and Fall/Winter, unless you're growing them in the Greenhouse already. But that also incurs an opportunity cost as you could be growing more lucrative Starfruit or Ancient Fruit in your Greenhouse instead.

Last edited:

bdawg

Greenhorn
Spicy Eel has the advantage that you can Farm it pretty easily by putting Rubies in Crystalariums to duplicate them and then trade them with the Desert Trader Lady for a Spicy Eel. Getting 2 Buffs is nice too, and you can layer on more Speed with Coffee or Luck with Ginger Ale, whichever you prefer. The Speed Buffs are very useful in outrunning some Skull Cavern monsters, especially the Flying Serpents which seem to have quite a preference for nibbling my knees.