Minecraft for Beginners

ArtifactSpot

I have read tons of good things about Minecraft here. I’ve tried to get into it but just can’t figure the basics or even purpose of the game. If I play survival I die straight away. If I play creative and can’t die I just bust blocks but never really acomplish anything. My brain just doesn’t “get” it I guess. Best beginner tips or any good guides out there? I bought it on mobile iOS.

Lew Zealand

Helper
I find Creative mode to be useful for planning a build but I am NOT a builder so I very rarely use it. I'm not inherently creative so otherwise this mode is useless other than for rare testing.

Survival becomes easy once you figure out a formula that works for you. Interestingly I recently watched a MC video about 25 tips or something like than and I was already doing about 15 of them, so that's part of the figuring out and I've been playing MC for 6 or 7 years now?

My way to avoid the quickly dying part is:

1) If you have a recent computer (or a gaming PC), set your render distance to 24 or 32 Chunks in preferences. If this kills your framerate, pull it down by 4 each time until you find it tolerable. The farther you can see, the easier it is to find a place/resource you're looking for.

2) A general starting strategy

• Punch a few Wood blocks outta a tree, make 4 Planks per Wood, make 4 or 8 Sticks from 2-4 Planks
• Make a Crafting table from 4 Planks, make a Wood Pickaxe from 2 Sticks and 3 Planks
• Dig into a closeby hillside until you get to Stone (usually 3 blocks in)
• Pickaxe 3 Stone, craft a Stone Pick and toss your old wood one
• Pick a bunch of Stone for future use, maybe ~20
• Make a Stone Axe and Stone Sword and maybe even a Furnace from that Stone

Those are your basics and should take maybe half that first day.

3) Plan for the first night