Game crashing, smapi says error in base update loop

lainalovee

Greenhorn
My partner and I started playing co-op, he is on windows and I am on mac. We played fine (as far as we could tell) at first (one in-game day with no issues) then downloaded a few mods. After that, the game would crash on my end and totally freeze, and tell him I disconnected. When I checked the smapi terminal, this is what it says and repeats over and over:

[game] An error occurred in the base update loop: IOException: The file '/Users/myname/Library/Application Support/Steam/steamapps/common/Stardew Valley/Contents/MacOS/StardewValley' already exists.
at System.IO.FileSystem.CreateDirectory(String fullPath)
at StardewValley.Program.WriteLog(LogType logType, String message, Boolean append)
at StardewValley.Multiplayer.LogDisconnect(DisconnectType disconnectType)
at StardewValley.Multiplayer.clientRemotelyDisconnected(DisconnectType disconnectType)
at StardewValley.Game1._update(GameTime gameTime)
at StardewValley.Game1.Update(GameTime gameTime)
at StardewModdingAPI.Framework.SCore.OnPlayerInstanceUpdating(SGame instance, GameTime gameTime, Action runUpdate) in SMAPI\Framework\SCore.cs:line 1125

I tried to find more info and I found this thread which sounds like my issue and has instructions for a solve, but I am unable to locate the file it's talking about. The first step of "hit command+shift+G" just searches for text on the webpage on my mac.

I tried playing single player mode and do not seem to be having issues. In multiplayer, it happened pretty quickly the two times we opened the game and I loaded in.

I hope someone is able to help. Thanks in advance!!

frandelor

Greenhorn
Hello, I am having the exact same problem with my girlfriend. Our current setup is: I am the host, on windows, and she is playing on a mac.