Issue Extremely Long Load Times/Not Responding/"API Loaded No"

queerdeerling

Greenhorn
(Cross posted from reddit because I haven't had any luck on the smapi forum.)

I started playing again after a year hiatus, removed all my mods and started from scratch to make sure they were all compatible with 1.6 I was playing without issue for a few days- load times approx 5 minutes, but that's to be expected when modding on an older machine. Once the game was booted up, it ran smooth with very short load times (less than 1 minute per load screen)

On 4/19, I started experiencing multiple issues. Load times started getting longer, 10-20 minutes, then my newest save files were corrupted. Tried the fix here (https://www.stardewvalley.net/missing-corrupt-save-file-troubleshooting-guide/) but nothing worked. I saw smapi released an update on 4/22, so I updated that, retried the corrupted save fix, and my load time was less than 2 minutes to get to the title screen. Approx 1 more min to load my previously corrupted file, fully working again.

I was beyond excited, thinking I had fixed the issue. Turned off my computer to go cook dinner, but when I booted it back up the same loading issues had worsened. It takes approx 20 minutes to get to the title screen, both new game and load game take 5-10 minutes after clicking, the create character page froze every time I made a change, and clicking next resulted in freezing and “not responding.” I gave up after 30 minutes and closed the game. No smapi errors because the game didn't crash, it just stopped responding. Here’s the log anyway:

https://smapi.io/log/c7122e9f7a204c00aefec2d82cc0149f

I decided to load a save file, one of the previously corrupted but now fixed ones, and just let it run. It took 1 hour and 15 minutes before it loaded the save file, and the game froze for 30-60 seconds every step I took. It didn't crash, I had to manually close it. Same thing as before, no smapi errors, identical log.