Complete newbie here, please help me with map choices!

IndiaHawker

Tiller
Hi all! Bought this game last night and love it already. It's like a wonderful combination of some of my other favourite games, and it's a great feeling being in that weird confusing newb stage of a game for the first time in ages! However I'm having some internal debate on different farm styles and want to make my mind up before progressing further! Originally went with the standard farm style, then decided I liked the look of the broken up fishing style farm, then went back to my standard save game. Now I'm looking at the different options and I'm really not sure - standard farm style has a lot of space but I feel like it's a bit boring - how many decorative options are there once I get a bit further in game? I'm guessing we can't alter the terrain shape? I do love the look of the hilltop farm with its different levels. Also the wilderness one looks pretty cool but haven't come across monsters yet much/at all, do they attack? Advice and beginner tips would be really appreciated please, thank you! :)

ISSsloth

Farmer
If you're having a hard time picking a map even as a seasoned player, a good choice is going with 4-corners as it has a bit of everything.

Johndeere756

Planter
Welcome. I am far from a expert, but it comes down to a personal choice. I have played on 3 different farms, and my favorite is the beach farm. I like the look, and the open space after you get it cleared. My son likes the hilltop best. I have never tried it, but I dont think I would like the wilderness farm. I am always trying to finish chores after dark, lol. I couldn't imagine fighting monsters while trying to water the blueberries. I do think the standard farm is probably the easiest, and not a bad choice for someone new. Anyway, best of luck and enjoy.

IndiaHawker

Tiller