Humane Slime Hutch question

Alfyna

Sodbuster
I've recently been reorganizing my farm a bit (forest farm) and have opened up that nice peaceful clearing down on the lower left corner of the map. I've been ignoring the slime hutch ever since I started playing because I couldn't stomach the idea of loving up my cute barn animals a few feet thataway and then immediately taking my sword to the equally cute slimes over thataway. It felt weirdly immersion-breaking. XD It's one thing when they attack you in the mines and you need to defend yourself --- it's another thing when you're raising them pretty much the same way you raise your chickens.

I have the slime charmer ring. They can't hurt me. My question is, if I build a slime hutch, can I reap the benefits of it without ever having to resort to killing the slimes? That is, can I just let them do their cute slime shenanigans, pick up any eggs I find etc, and avoid ever killing any of them? They would have room to roam outside and I don't intend on fencing them in inside of the building. I would want to treat it pretty much exactly like a chicken coop.

Is it possible to have a humane slime hutch?

Alfyna

Sodbuster
They produce slime balls if you give them water. They can't go outside, but as they usually dwell in dark caves and forests I think forcing them into the sun is the inhumane thing to do.

It's not very profitable, but you can try and breed different colors.
I think my main question is if I can have a 'successful' slime hutch without killing any slimes to maintain it. If I have to kill them, I'd rather not have it.

Ereo

Helper
Well, what's your definition of successful?

Without killing them, they produce slime balls. So, slime and sometimes petrified slime.

You won't get any loot without killing them, but there is also no reason to kill them if you don't want to.

imnvs

Local Legend