PC Can't access my own save file

mufasa_tsunami

Newcomer
I have a friend on Steam who is the host for a co-op game and we haven't played in a while. In the time we haven't played, I got a new laptop and now I can't join my own save file within the co-op game. All my single player save files are still accessible to me but I don't know why I can't access the co-op one. Any suggestions?
 
From the wiki:

The player who created the world (the "host") has the save file on their system, can launch it in multiplayer mode, and can play solo at any time. If the host is not online or the farm is not currently open to other players, then the world is not accessible to other players who had previously connected to the world (the "farmhands") and they cannot view their characters or any other information from that world. Farm ownership cannot be transferred to farmhands without modding.

i dont think you can
 
i did see that and the host was active and I could see my save file but it didn't register that I was the one playing. It said something along the lines of " this character does not belong to you" even though it is my character.
 
This error means the game’s save file has a User ID that doesn’t match the account you’re trying to use. It often happens when:

  • You join someone else’s farm as a “farmhand” and later try to use that character from your own account
  • You reinstall the game or change systems, and the host’s save file gets a different user ID

Google has a fix for it just google "this character does not belong to you stardew" I think the host needs to access the save file and update the user ID
 
i did see that and the host was active and I could see my save file but it didn't register that I was the one playing. It said something along the lines of " this character does not belong to you" even though it is my character.
To solve the "This character belongs to another player" issue, the host player can enter this command in the chatbox: /unlinkPlayer CharacterName (but replace "CharacterName" with the name of your character who you lost access to).

That will set the character as unclaimed, so that it can be reclaimed by you.
 
Back
Top