Fish Ponds - Worthy Investment?

Do fish ponds add enough value to your farm's income to justify the time/cost?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

Sacor

Greenhorn
Hi there folks! This is my first time collaborating with these forums, but I wanted to get a general consensus on the fish ponds . Recently I picked up my Nintendo Switch to begin a second full playthrough of Stardew Valley. I came back to find the new updates added these fish ponds, and I love fish so I instantly started going all in on building them.

I have found that I am making really decent money with high value fish. I always sell any fish that are higher than basic quality because any fish you drop in the pond are reverted to the base quality regardless of the quality of fish added to the pond.

Has anybody else found this to be a lucrative use of stone/gold/fish? It would be nice to have a fish shed or hatchery where you can auto collect roe for multiple species of fish at once similar to the Barn or Coop Auto-Collector!

I love this game and I love reading about other people's designs and farms. :)

Thanks all!

Njin

Planter
I vote no but that's just because I farm purely for profit at this point . I can't really speak from a mid game standpoint all money is good money when your trying to make your first mill. fish ponds came to my farm year 14, I built 2 when they were introduced at 1.5 & Late game it don't seem like the money is there for me to justify doing it for profit . I plan to build more fish ponds though as I like being able to put my fish to work creating more fish and gathering resources . I like the Idea of the roe and caviar but I would farm it just to collect it . eventually I will collect it all just to put it in a box so I can say I have it. It is a very cool addition a good way to diversify what you can farm. I see why people like them they look real cool on the farm. Def would be cooler if you could drop the legendary fish in it though.