Question Easiest Mod to Make for Newbie

Hi, all.

I want to try modding. I have no prior experience, as you can tell. I'm planning to create a SDV mod soon. My question is that which part in SDV is easy to mod? Is it the title screen interface, items, or something else? I'm asking this because I need to make some easy ones first, for someone who has no art or coding experience.

Atlantic Chaos

Greenhorn
Hey, congrats on starting your modding journey!

I also just started creating mods, and though I had a little bit of coding experience, it was pretty sporadic/basic. After considering several mod ideas I had, I found starting with a dialogue mod to be the easiest and best place to start, for several reasons:
  1. It doesn't require any assets (i.e., art) to be created.
  2. At the same time, it's helped me learn things like where some of those assets are, and gain a basic understanding of how ContentPatcher works (which is one of the two main SDV modding tools).
  3. It also doesn't require you to understand any complex code/coding logic. But again, you'll still learn some coding essentials with JSON, like making sure there are commas at the end of your lines, close and open brackets in the right place (and always a pair), and checking that your key/value name pairings are all spelled correctly/the same if you're trying to refer to them for decisions, such as you would when writing a question in the dialogue.