1.6 Update Animal Profitability in 1.6?

Malymin

Cowpoke
Has anyone done the math yet for how 1.6's various buffs affect animal profits? Because, off the top of my head, the big changes are...

Every Animal Except Pigs:
Golden Animal cracker makes non-pigs to produce 2 items per harvesting.

Wool-Bearing Animals:
Iridium wool went from having a 50% chance to create 2 cloth to a 100% chance.
Gold wool went from having a 25% chance to create 2 cloth to a 50% chance.
Silver wool went from having a 10% chance to create 2 cloth to a 15% chance.

Dinosaurs:
Treasure Appraisal Guide power making Dinosaur Eggs become more profitable than Dinosaur Mayonnaise in most circumstances.

But I'm not very good at profit analysis stuff. I'm especially wondering how golden animal crackers + the loom buff affect sheep's profits, in both the Artisan and Shepherd professions.

ClaraCatte

Sodbuster
I haven't done the math, but I enjoy ranching a lot. The crackers allow for more production all the time, so making cloth is fantastic.
If you have the artisan perk, even Dino Mayo is plenty profitable as well as the constant make of cloth. It takes a bit to get going, but once you do, you'll be rolling in the money in no time.

stardew_luv

Sodbuster
I know they haven’t lost profit and with the added helpers like animal cookies I think it is slowly creeping up there with growing crops in terms of profits. I think artisan will still bring most profit, but I’m a lazy farmer and hate processing so if I have lots of animals I just go rancher and throw it in the bin as is, making sure to save some for CC, cooking or making clothes and iridium for the fair display.

Even if ancient fruit and star fruit wine still out profit they get boring, animals are adorable and fun. I’ll take a little cut in profits for that.

Last edited:

Malymin

Cowpoke
I haven't done the math, but I enjoy ranching a lot. The crackers allow for more production all the time, so making cloth is fantastic.