Update/Retune Skull Cavern Experience and Difficulty for Multiplayer

dkmuppy

Greenhorn
Hello fellow adventurers!

I recently started playing Stardew Valley with my wife in online multiplayer mode (we have 2 switches). I've never played the game in single player mode but I gotta say the game feels really great and I imagine having two sets of hands working the farm is more advantageous in every way except one: the skull cavern.

From what I understand, the skull cavern was carefully balanced to offer a challenging new experience (tougher monsters and no elevator) without being too difficult or oppressive (slowed day clock while adventuring in the cave). I think this finely tuned experience does not translate well into multiplayer where time cannot be paused and it does not seem like the day clock slows down while plumbing the depths of Skull Cavern. My wife and I chose to split the responsibilities of the farm across skill trees (I do the mining/fighting and she does the farming) but because of the imbalanced difficulty of Skull Cavern in multiplayer, I'm unable to negotiate the cavern effectively and I'm holding up our progression. Our current strategy is for my wife to level up her mining and fighting to support me in the caves but I wish that this game supported a complementary-role playstyle because I think it's an interesting and entertaining way to play this game. My suggestion is: Can we make Skull Cavern slightly easier in multiplayer?