Farming in Stardew Valley VS Farming in real life

G'day to ya!

As you may or may not know I am a farmer in the Northwest and Stardew Valley is a game about farming in a region largely based off of the Northwest, and so, Stardew Valley really made me feel at home playing it for the first time...and really any time after.

However, Stardew Valley does not hold itself up well in terms of accuracy, as you may have already guessed, this is a thread and post dedicated to educating people on the differences between farming in Stardew Valley and farming in real life.

Also, in no way is this a criticism towards the game, I really don't care if it's inaccurate to actual farming, this is all for fun and also to teach folks a thing or two about agriculture.

An obvious inaccuracy is the seasonal growth of crops and plants, for the most part, concerned ape got the seasons in which plants grow correct, and in a simple farming game like Stardew Valley, that's all that has to matter, however in real life, the time plants are planted and harvest is largely the same, in which during the summer and spring a farmer will plant the seeds, and it's only during the fall when they all grow. When it comes to seasonal crops like Cauliflower, Corn, and Pumpkins, this is usually the case, Cauliflower is often planted in the Spring, and becomes mature in the late summer or early fall, Corn and Pumpkins are planted in early summer and become mature in late fall, this is why fall is often referred to as the harvest season, as most crops become harvestable in the fall.