Question What are the skills and software needed to MOD?

tommybob

Planter
There is a lot of online resources for Stardew mods, the wiki has all the SMAPI docs on them

This is the best place to start, start small and get something super basic working. Then try what you want and make small iterations between lots of testing.

Software I use Visual Studio Code
For art I use Photoshop

I am very new to modding in Stardew, I mostly just fix bugs in the mods i use already.

CH1CH4N88

Farmhand
There is a lot of online resources for Stardew mods, the wiki has all the SMAPI docs on them

This is the best place to start, start small and get something super basic working. Then try what you want and make small iterations between lots of testing.

Software I use Visual Studio Code
For art I use Photoshop

I am very new to modding in Stardew, I mostly just fix bugs in the mods i use already.
Thank you so much. 😊

Anhaga

Rancher
This is an old thread, but I'll revive it: have any of you made--or does anyone know of--a good walkthrough on how to mod Stardew art? I have absolutely no clue how to get started; the Modder guide is too vague. If, for instance, I want to do a mod focused on sprites and portraits, what do I do to get started?

Chililover

Planter
This is an old thread, but I'll revive it: have any of you made--or does anyone know of--a good walkthrough on how to mod Stardew art? I have absolutely no clue how to get started; the Modder guide is too vague. If, for instance, I want to do a mod focused on sprites and portraits, what do I do to get started?
Hey anna! I think it would be best if you made a thread for this type of mod that you want to create, but here's some tutorials, if your wanting to make a npc mod (adding a npc) here's this!
Annd this!!
Here's a list of frameworks!
and for coding you'll need this!!

Chililover

Planter