Fishing Spot Reccomendations?

shelbygrimes

Greenhorn
As a Stardew Valley veteran myself, I have my preferred places to fish. I was curious about everyone else's favorite lake, river, and ocean fishing spots on the map! As well as their favorite misc. places to fish (Calico Desert, the sewer, the mines, etc.) Hoping to not only inform new players of the great spots to fish but also to understand where everyone stands on this topic!

Excited to see what everyone's favorite places are!

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

Rancher
A. Can I ask questions?

1. The Wiki says shade of water does not signify depth (for example, a short cast from the pier is still a short="shallow" cast), and what matters is how far you get the bobber from walkable paths. Is the Jodi's house spot an exception to that?

2. At the Hat Shop spot, is it significant that the farmer is not at the edge of the walkable area to get maximum distance="depth"? The Wiki says that casting west or east gives you more distance than casting north or south. That could explain the increased distance="depth" here? In real play would the farmer go to the west end?

B. The more play hours go by, the simpler my fishing locations get, other than where the Legendaries are. I mostly just fish in front of Fish Shop door or to the east (esp. Spring 2-4 Year 1), south of The Mines entrance, and (yeah) in front of Jodi's house. Pretty boring, huh? :whistle:

Benhimself

Rancher
Yeah, I'm a big fan of right in front of the fishing shop, because that way if you run out of a tackle you can jump in and buy a replacement, and you can sell all your extra fish just before the shop closes and clean up inventory space for the night's fishing.

The bridge between the museum and town is my favorite for town river fishing because between casts you can usually get cheap "hey what's up?" talking-friendship-points with a surprising assortment of folks walking by.