Issue New to modding, having issues with StardewmoddingAPI

Redninja

Newcomer
Platform: Windows (11)
Game Version: latest as game was just bought today 7/30/22
Smapi: below
Error: so im not sure whats happening, but its not launching

When i click on StardewmoddingAPI it will not launch and sometimes this causes Steam to not launch until a restart. I am very new to modding as i had played stardew on xbox and wanted to try modding. Im not sure what went wrong, but it might be that i followed a tutorial on youtube from 5 years ago. But i downloaded the mods from nexusmods, extracted them, then first i tried moving the folder thats shown when you click into the first folder for that mod to the mod folder is %appdata% of stardew. it didnt launch so i followed the video closer and went one folder deeper.
2022-07-30 (1).png
2022-07-30 (2).png
The tutorial video i watched was "How to install SMAPI and mods 2017 | Stardew Valley Modding API" by thatdenverguy. I know almost nothing about modding so im not sure what does and doesnt make a difference.

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

SecretlyCheese

Newcomer
Hi!
So when it comes to Stardew modding, my first time was very clunky too and things just didn't work out the way they should've even with tutorial videos but then I realized there's a step by step tutorial on the Stardew Valley wikia.

I recommend uninstalling and restarting everything and trying again with these steps:

1. Run the game without any mods or SMAPI at least once so it can do first-time setup.
2. Download the latest version of SMAPI (https://smapi.io/)
3. Extract the .zip file anywhere you like (for example the Downloads folder)
4. Double-click the "Install on Windows" Batch file
5. Follow the screen instructions and press either 1 or 2 based on your preference and hit Enter
6. Do not close the window (it's important for the next step)